Fan Into Flame.

“For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands.  For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.” ~ 2 Timothy 1:6-7 

Sometimes our search for more (which can be healthy) can distract us from what we already have.  I remember hearing a prayer that was full of “God give me’s…”  God give me strength.  God give me faith.  God give me a desire to know you more.  God give me more of you.  God give me peace.  God give me joy.  God give me love.  And so on…

But haven’t we already received such gifts, strength, faith, knowledge, peace, joy, love?  And, forgive me, but I must admit that it is a bit foolish and selfish to ask God to give us more of Him when He has already given us Himself.  You see, we have received!

We have received in abundance.  It is within us.  He is within us.  He has given us such gifts.  And we are to fan into flame these gifts.  Why?  So that they grow!  So that they are a light to others!  So that they are shared and given to others!

You have strength…fan into flame!
You have faith…fan into flame!
You have knowledge…fan into flame!
You have peace…fan into flame!
You have joy…fan into flame!
You have love…fan into flame!
You have________…fan into flame! 

Thank you God for what we already have received in abundance.  Thank you that they are within us.  Thank you that you are with us.  Thank you for the Spirit that teaches and for the way that You continuously fill us.   It is with a heart of thankfulness that I praise you.

What gifts are waiting for you to fan into flame?  You have received! 

4 thoughts on “Fan Into Flame.

  1. Hello Jennifer,

    Good reading how things have progressed since we Skyped in March about personnel development ideas. There is a friend from our church who will be spending a few months in Spain starting in September. I’m encouraging her to make contact with the G42 group as she is seeking direction in her life.

    All God’s Best, Ken

  2. Just realized this blog entry was here. I know I don’t comment much…but I am always reading them and enjoying them. I enjoy YOU. 🙂
    Love this blog.
    Such a good perspective. It has already been given.
    Remove the blinders Lord. Helps us see the enemy and his tools to keep us from allowing your flame to spread like wildfire.

Leave a Reply

