When 1 is the Greatest Number…

I enjoy football!  And I was definitely excited to be able to watch a bit of the Gridiron Gang this morning.  If you haven’t seen it, I recommend it.  It’s not the best acting, but the message behind it still makes me tear up.  It’s about Unity, being a Team, no matter our differences and helping each other be better.  You might think that’s a random thought, from a simple movie, that I just shared with you this morning.

But, I sit here with a lot on my mind.  You see, my family and I just moved back to the States from Colombia.  It’s been 6 weeks since we arrived and we have had to hit the ground running.  It hasn’t been easy all the time, trying to find a place to live, my husband finding work, and preparing for the arrival of our little girl in less than a week and a half, all while caring for our 17 month old and working on strengthening and nurturing our own marriage.

The other night I could feel the weight on my husband’s shoulders as he works diligently to provide and care for us.  I, like many of us, have felt overwhelmed, in over our heads, and just unprepared for what we are facing.

But in the midst of it all, I can’t help but have a heart full of thanks for community.  In a world that continues to try to create separation among us all, to be against one another rather than for one another, to push people down so others can rise, I AM BLESSED WITH COMMUNITY.

Engagement foto with sun flare

First, my husband and I are a team.  Sometimes it feels as those we disagree a lot, but in the thick of it all, no matter what we face, I know we will continue to stand side by side and face the world together.  I know, together, we will raise our children helping them to be the man and woman God created them to be, to protect them, encourage them, and challenge them.

And as we continue to transition back to life here in the States and our growing family, our family and friends have surrounded us in support, love, and encouragement.  We aren’t alone.  We are never alone.  And sometimes, that’s all we need to remember.

Galations 5:13-14 states, “For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another. 14 For the whole law is fulfilled in one word: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.””

So thank you for opening your eyes to the person next to you even though they may be different than you, have different passions, interests, skills, etc.  Thank you for making time out of your busy schedule for that one person who just needs encouragement or quality time with a good friend.  Thank you for reaching out of your comfort zone to meet someone new, to welcome them into your life, to realize that we truly are ONE body, ONE community.

Let us come together as ONE for that is when ONE truly is the GREATEST number.

2 thoughts on “When 1 is the Greatest Number…

  1. It looks and sounds like you and Jared are doing awesome! Life is stressful, especially with the crazy mission we’ve been called to, but it is always rewarding. All of our love from the UK! Strength, health, and love to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

