Don’t Cry Over Spilled Coffee

Okay, so maybe shedding a tear is acceptable.  Let’s be honest.  It’s coffee with french vanilla creamer, a little piece of heaven in a cup.

That’s how this morning started.  Well, actually it started earlier with 1 baby and 1 toddler awake at 5:30am!  Therefore, coffee is needed!

As I rolled, literally rolled, out of bed I thought to myself how productive this day would be since it was starting so early.  Kids fed, coffee made, Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood playing…success.  I grabbed my computer, to do list, and binder of information and got ready to get things done.  But anyone who has raised a boy knows that an 18 month little boy has different plans.  And papers, computers, and coffee cups seem more appealing than any car, block, or toy that is nearby.  Can you see where this is going?

Coffee was spilled all over my papers (If my husband is reading this, know that nothing in our house was stained or ruined in this incident ;).  Part of me wanted to cry because my papers were now brown…but most of all I wanted to cry because there went my much needed, hot, delicious, cup of coffee.

So why write about such a insignificant event?  Because the truth is, I could have lost it.  I’m exhausted, trying to focus, and trying to have a moment to enjoy my coffee.  But that wasn’t going to happen.  Now I’m using valuable time to clean up a small mess and make another cup of coffee.  I could have easily lost it.

But in this moment I looked at my son, took a breath, and told him “no”… AND firmly reminded him of all things that are not his toys AND reminded myself how small this really is!  Isn’t it funny how we can make such big things, react in such anger, and get upset over such small incidents or accidents, and yet at the same time ignore, de-emphasize, or not even notice all the small wonderful blessings in our life?

My coffee may have spilled onto my papers, but it was an accident, made by an 18 month old who is learning to explore, who wants to play, who is my precious son that I wouldn’t trade for anything.  What if we stopped crying over spilled coffee, and instead take a breath, clean up the mess, and see the bigger picture…the Truth, that with or without coffee this morning…I AM BLESSED.

brewtiful morning

Now for that cup of coffee….

4 thoughts on “Don’t Cry Over Spilled Coffee

  1. Good perspective you give here. Always love reading your thoughts. Glad you got to still have a cup of coffee and embraced the day.

  2. What a great post about being thankful and feeling blessed and keeping perspective! You are so encouraging!! Oh, and that is the coolest cup ever!!! I love you sis!!!

Leave a Reply

