Growing and Exploring

As I was working this morning, there they were…these little fingers reaching over the countertop trying to grab whatever they could get.  Things that used to be safe and out of the reach of my son, are now within his grip.  I smiled as I saw him on his very tip toes just exploring this new space that he could now reach, but still couldn’t see.  He’s growing and he’s exploring and I love it…well, except for the fact that I now have to find a new place for my herbs to grow ;).  But the truth is, it is fun to watch.

20160201_082045

This past Sunday we learned about creating and fostering an environment of growth.  Which went perfectly with my husband and I’s vision casting weekend where we discussed the environment we would like to create in our home.

But let’s be honest…growing isn’t always an easy process.  There will be spills.  There will be falls.  Accidents will happen.  Sometimes I feel as we grow up, we begin to protect ourselves and in the process limit our growth and our wonder of exploration.  We want things easy and run from challenges.  We lose sight of what’s possible with fears of the unknown or what could happen.  Life becomes safer but stagnant, easier but boring.

So as I see my son reaching and standing on his very tip toes to reach a new level, to explore, learn, and grow, I’m reminded of my own growth.  And those times when my son and daughter get frustrated because they can’t figure something out, or an accident happens as they discover something new, I’ll remind them it is part of the growth process, to keep going, to reach for limits beyond there grasp to live a life they never could imagine.

Matthew 14:29
“He said, ‘Come.’ So Peter got out of the boat and walked on the water and came to Jesus.”

I know this is a lesson I continually learn and share.  But I just keep getting these great reminders!  With that said, it’s time to get out of the boat, take the risk, learn, explore, and who knows maybe even have the focus and faith to walk on water…

 

One thought on “Growing and Exploring

Leave a Reply

